Drivers Ed

The Program
Manitou Springs High School offers a fully certified Driver’s Education Course, which includes:

30 hours of classroom instruction
-- Three (8 hour) days & one (6 hour) day
6 hours of required behind the wheel driving/training -- Three (2 hour) driving sessions

In addition to the Driver’s Education Course, we also offer:

Permit test--$15
Drive-time only--$250.00

The Instructor
Retired High School teacher Rob Quarry received his certification from Pepperdine University in California and has taught driver’s education in California and Colorado for over 40 years.

The Law:
Students may obtain their driving permit at age 15 and a license at age 16 only if they complete a certified driver’s education classroom course. If students do not complete a course, they cannot get a permit until age 15 1⁄2 or a license until age 16 1⁄2. New legislation allows students to take driver’s education before their 15th birthday; however, they must be 15 and get their permit within six months (180 days) of completing the course to receive their license. You must also hold a permit for one full year to get your license. Therefore, it is reasonable NOT to enroll your student until they are at least 14 and 8 months of age. When your student’s permit is a few months of being a year old you should contact the DMV and make an appointment to take the driving test. You may also contact one of the many commercial driving schools to take the test.

Many insurance companies will offer 2%-10% discounts to students who have completed a certified course.

Class Offerings:
We typically offer three classes a year in January, May/June, and August.
Please email Angie Glass at [email protected] with questions and for upcoming class availability.

To Register:
Please email: [email protected] or call (719) 685 2053 to register. Registration forms and deposits are due at time of registration. 

Manitou Springs High School, Drivers Education 401 El Monte Place, Manitou Springs, CO 80829

Registration Form